Pembrey Rounds 3 & 4 - Press Release & Result

Official release from an amazing and eventful Rallycross weekend at Pembrey Circuit in Wales...
Taylor climbs championship table with strong weekend at Pembrey
Power Maxed Racing driver Jake Taylor delivered a strong performance through rounds three and four of the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship at Pembrey (May 1 – 2), which is run as part of the MSA British Rallycross Championship, and moved up to fifth in the championship standings.
The first day of action at Pembrey, the home of Welsh Motorsport, used the circuit in the opposite anti-clockwise direction, a new experience for all of the drivers. In challengingly wet conditions, Taylor’s day was made more difficult by losing second gear in his Swift Sport in the first qualifying race, soon after making a brilliant start. With a truncated timetable, there was no time to change the gearbox and Taylor impressed by fighting his way through to qualify eighth overall heading into the semi-finals.
MSA Academy student Taylor finished third in the semi-final to secure a place in the final. Running inside a podium position during the race, Taylor looked set to score his first rostrum finish of the season until an incident just four corners from the finish ended his chances. He was quickly able to recover to finish sixth and score important championship points.”
“The conditions in round three were the toughest I have experienced in rallycross, and I really had to adapt to the changeable conditions. The reverse circuit at Pembrey was very wet and slippery, made even more difficult when I didn’t have full use of second gear. I quickly adapted my driving style and I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge, I knew I had to do the best I could with the main gear missing on the day to secure championship points, and I was ecstatic with the result, given the circumstances and I just narrowly missed out on the podium, a real achievement in these conditions” summarised Taylor.
The Power Maxed team worked hard into the night with the support of Peter Gwynne Motorsport to remove and repair the Suzuki’s gearbox. The second day of competition and round four of the championship took place on the more commonly used Pembrey clockwise direction. The rain continued to fall and now with a fully repaired gearbox in the Swift, other mechanical issues appeared that affected traction and power, meaning Taylor had another tough job ahead. Calling on his experience from rallying, he adapted yet again and excelled, finishing strongly in the qualifying races before a close battle with two other competitors in the semi-finals gave Taylor a starting position in the final.
A great start in the final was followed by a well-timed joker lap and Taylor was again battling for a place on the podium. A racing incident late in the race caused a spin, but he was again able to recover to finish sixth in the final in round four.
As a result of the two days of challenging rallycross action, Taylor progressed to fifth in the championship standings, of 18 registered drivers.
“Monday was a day full of new challenges and I felt that I dealt with them really well given the changing circumstances and technical niggles we had with the car. I must say a huge thanks to the Power Maxed team for getting me out there fighting fit, race after race,” said Taylor. “They have been incredible support all weekend, so much effort and hard work has proven very valuable. I’m very happy with my performance and the results that have moved me up in the Championship. Now we have fixed and located all of the gremlins in the car, I’m really looking forward to racing in the next round in Belgium. This year for me is about learning, improving my race craft and helping Power Maxed Racing develop their rallycross team! We can safely say we definitely achieved this at Pembrey.”
Final results, Round Three, Pembrey: 1 Nathan Heathcote 2 Chris Woollett 3 Brett Harris 4 Jack Brown 5 Simon Ovenden 6 Jake Taylor 7 Andrew Hawkes 8 Andy Peacover
Final results, Round Four, Pembrey: 1 Simon Ovenden 2 Jack Brown 3 Aidan Hills 4 Martin Dalzell 5 Nathan Heathcote 6 Jake Taylor 7 Bradley Durdin 8 Brett Harris